Davis Cup 2023 Final Italy vs Australia

by Alain Chivilò


The 2023 Davis Cup features the four semi-finalists: Italy, Serbia – Australia, Finland.

In Malaga, a balanced edition where it becomes essential to know how to play the hot points, but above all, to field the right players between singles and doubles.

The 4 Nations semi-finalists are:

Matteo Arnaldi, Lorenzo Musetti, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Simone Bolelli, Captain Filippo Volandri

Novak Djokovic, Miomir Kecmanovic, Laslo Djere, Dusan Lajovic, Hamad Medjedovic, Captain Victor Troicki

Alex de Minaur, Matthew Ebden, Alexei Popyrin, Max Purcell, Jordan Thompson, Captain Lleyton Hewitt

Harri Heliovaara, Patrick Kaukovalta, Emil Ruusuvuori, Otto Virtanen, Patrik Niklas-Salminen, Captain Jarkko Nieminen

Italy is proving to be the fittest, most homogeneous and most compact nation around the symbolic and totally hot player of the moment, Jannik Sinner. The double ‘Jannik Sinner – Lorenzo Sonego’ is proving to be the ace that seemed to be missing in past editions. Victory and semi-finals against the Netherlands.

Italy vs Serbia 2 – 1

Lorenzo Musetti after a tiebreak won in the opening set, surrenders in the third set. Jannik Sinner cancels three consecutive match points by Novak Djokovic and with three consecutive games draws the match. In the doubles final, Sinner/Sonego repeat the victory in two sets, reaching Sunday. Splendid tennis performance by Jannik Sinner who unhinged Djokovic appeared tense and imprecise in the crucial moments of the deciding set. In doubles, Serbia does not change men and inexorably loses in 1.36 H

Australia vs Finland 2 – 0

Alexei Popyrin and Alex de Minaur put out Virtanen and Ruusuvuori’s Finland without any particular troubles. Earning an extra day of rest as per the scoreboard and programming.

Final: Italy vs Australia

On Sunday for the silver salad bowl, inertia appears towards Italy who eliminated a possible finalist such as Serbia. The last final lost by Italy dates back to 1998. Australia won with a double against the Czech Republic, fearsome without exalting but, always present in the moments that count. The last final lost dates back to 2022. There will be two or three very difficult matches.


©AC, NDSL, AM, Alain Chivilo

Comments are closed.