Rugby World Cup 2023 one point

by Alain Chivilò


One point. For the third consecutive match from Quarterfinals to Final, at the Rugby World Cup 2023, South Africa won by one point. This point is and means gold and poker: fourth RWC title and first Nation to reach this huge milestone.

Highlighting a point does not mean the Springboks were lucky but, they played a final as South Africa knows how to do.

New Zealand vs South Africa

The Springboks as DNA have the ability to destroy, in a certain sense, the opponent’s game through an attentive, tough, idomite and almost always present defensive phase. This sort of pressure creates to the attackers constant and inevitably errors.

The yellow (Shannon Frizell) and the red (Sam Cane) cards to New Zealand, 2′ and 27′ of the first half, point out not intentional foul play but, over the top actions to face South Africa.

The spectacular game in the moments that count does not appear for the greens yellows but, there is immense substance behind. Among the notes written before the Final, with impartiality, this element was also reported.

In the second half Springboks didn’t score any points. In the second half All Blacks scored the only try of the match.

During the Second Half the All Blacks could have won by seeking a final phase. They tried to win. They had several attacks to make a second try, or a drop goal, or to score a penalty but, in front of them, they found a cliff that withstood the impetus with two players also receiving a yellow card, 45′ (Siya Kolisi) and 73′ (Cheslin Kolbe). The Springboks have always countered New Zealand’s attack at their best, although at various times the Blacks could have set it up better. 

Without red card it was possible? Hard to say and to write. Probably yes but, at the same time, probably no making an overview of South Africa during the final knockout phase.

In the end: two Oceanic rugby superpowers faced each other. Springboks had the soul and the genetic code, when they are at the top, to win like this. Now South Africa is leading with four titles (2023, 2019, 2007, 1995), New Zealand three (2015, 2011, 1987).

South Africa 12 vs New Zealand 11

South Africa:

Pens Handre Pollard (3′, 13′, 19′, 34′)

New Zealand:

Tries Beauden Barrett (58′) – Pens Richie Mo’unga (17′, 38′)

Now, the road to Australia 2027 is very long, today. As news: it will be hosted between 1 October and 13 November. Historical, the tournament will be expanded from 20 to 24 teams.

Springboks will try to confirm for the third consecutive time. All Blacks will try to win at home of theirs Pacific island neighbors reaching again South Africa. Australia will try to walk on to the Semifinals. Los Pumas and England to confirm. France for the semifinals. The others? Probably Italy could walk on to the knockout phase. The challenge is always open but, a moment of peace is always beneficial.


©AC, NDSL, AM, Alain Chivilo

Comments are closed.